Events‎ > ‎

Espo 2015 Conference

BEPPo will be showcased at the at the European Sea Ports Organisation ESPO 2015 conference taking place in Athens on 21-22 May 2015 with the title “No ports, no energy. No energy, no ports”. For the registration and more info:

Thursday, 21 May 2015 

09:00 Registration & Welcome Coffee             

09:30 Opening Session

- Welcome by Santiago Garcia-Mila, Chairman, ESPO; Ioannis Moralis, Mayor of Piraeus; Yiorgos                 Anomeritis, President and CEO of Piraeus Port Authority 

  Opening Keynote speeches

- George Stathakis, Minister of Economy, Infrastructure, Maritime Affairs & Tourism, Energy outlook

- Tania Zgajewski, Senior Research Fellow, Egmont Royal Institute for International Relations, Outlook for     European ports

- Vincent Valentine, UNCTAD - United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

10:45    Coffee Break


11:15   Session 1 The changing global energy system: consequences for Europe and its ports

Moderator: Dr. Peter De Langen, Owner and Principal Consultant, Ports & Logistics Advisory, SL

 - Anne Houtman, Principal Advisor, DG ENER, European Commission: EU plans for a European Energy        Union: role and impact on ports. 

- Arturas Drungilas, Marketing Director, Klaipeda State Seaport Authority: Role of the port in developing       Klaipeda into the Energy City for the Baltic area

- John P. LaRue, Executive Director, Port of Corpus Christi Authority, Texas (US): How are American ports   reacting to the rapidly evolving energy demands, markets and policy?

- Raf Bouckaert HSEQ Expert, President of the Steering Committee Environment and Energy at Flemish         Chamber of Commerce and Industry, former Technical Service Manager at Bayer Antwerpen NV : How to   rethink our energy policy to transform it into driver of industrial growth in European ports?

Views of the ports

- José Luis Hormaechea Escós, General Director, Port Authority of Algeciras Bay

- Jens Meier, CEO, Port of Hamburg

- Christine Cabau Woehrel, CEO, Grand Port Maritime de Marseille

- Victor Schoenmakers, Director Corporate Strategy, Port of Rotterdam


13:00  Lunch


- Isabelle Ryckbost, Secretary General, ESPO, Presentation of ESPO’s position on the review of the 2011       Transport White Paper


- Finbarr O’Sullivan, Managerial Advisor, Structured Finance Infrastructure / TENs, European Investment       Bank (EIB)

EIB Financial instruments: an adequate tool for European seaports?

14:45 Session 2: New energy mix in transport: consequences for European ports

Moderator: Bogdan Oldakowski, Secretary General Baltic Ports Organisation (BPO)

- Carlo Raucci, Doctoral Researcher, UCL Energy Institute, “Global Marine fuel Trends 2030” (Lloyds Register/UCL Energy institute): Driving forces and conditions influencing the future marine fuel mix

- Rob Winkel, Senior consultant Sustainable Transport, Ecofys: The economic and environmental potential for shore-side electricity in European Ports

- Capt. Marc Nuytemans, FNI, Managing Director Exmar Shipmanagement NV: The new energy mix, impact on shipping lines serving the international oil and gas industry

- Hans-Peter Hadorn, CEO, Ports of Switzerland: LNG as alternative energy and commodity for inland navigation – role of inland and seaports

View of the ports

- Valeriu Nicolae Ionescu, CEO, Port of Constantza

- Julian Skelnik, Marketing Director, Port of Gdansk

- Alec Don, CEO, Port of Milford Haven

- João Franco, President, Port of Sines and Algarve


16:15 Coffee Break

16:30 Port 2 Port hour: What are European ports doing to improve their energy efficiency?

During this session participants will have the opportunity to learn more about existing energy efficiency projects in European ports. Ports will have the opportunity to show their best practices in the field of energy efficiency and to exchange good practices with other ports in the field.

The following energy efficient port projects will be displayed:

“Waste to energy” (Zeeland Seaports) - “PATCH (Ports Adapting to Change)” - “Green Port Energy Centre” (Port Authority of Vigo) - “Passive port house project - winner of European Greenbuilding award” (Port of Ghent) - “Energy Infrastructure Delta Plan” (Port of Rotterdam) - “No Waste, Just resources“ (Port of Koper, Winner of the ESPO award 2014) - Greenports-development and best practice in the Ports of Bremen - “Innovative U-OWC breakwaters to produce electrical power from waves - REWEC3“ (Port of Civitavecchia) - GREENBERTH

17:30 End of the first conference day

19:15 Departure for the Conference Dinner

20:00 Dinner in the Yacht Club of Greece           


Friday, 22 May 2015


08:30 Welcome Coffee

09:00 Session 3: Europe’s decarbonisation agenda: opportunities and challenges for European ports

Moderator: Dimitrios Theologitis, Head of Port s and Inland Navigation, DG MOVE, European Commission

- Eva Kaili, Member of the European Parliament: View of the Parliament on Europe’s decarbonisation           agenda: impact on ports

- Hari Dattatreya, Global Director Oil, Koninklijke Vopak: Decarbonising Europe: Challenges for the tank       storage sector in European Ports 

- Dr. Bart Kuipers, Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam: Ports as catalysts for change towards a circular               economy

- Wim Stubbe, Project Leader BEPPO (Blue Energy Production in Ports): Role of Ports in renewable energy development

View of the ports

- Robert Howe, Managing Director, Ports of Bremen

- Professor Hercules Haralambides, President, Port of Brindisi

- Eamonn O’Reilly, Vice Chairman ESPO and CEO Port of Dublin

- Stavros Hatzakos, General Manager, Piraeus Port Authority

 Q & A

10:30 Coffee Break

10:45 Session 4 - European policy debate      

Moderator:David Whitehead OBE, Director British Ports Association (BPA)

Keynote speeches

- Fotis Karamitsos, Acting Deputy Director-General, DG MOVE, European Commision

- Knut Fleckenstein, MEP and rapporteur on the Port Regulation

- Elissavet Vozemberg, Member of the European Parliament

- Miltiadis Kyrkos, Member of the European Parliament

followed by an exchange of views with the ports

- Eddy Bruyninckx, CEO, Port of Antwerp

- Marina Ferreira, President of the Board, Port of Lisbon

- Giuliano Gallanti, President, Port of Livorno

- Gitte Lillelund Bech, Director, Danish Ports association

12:30 Closing of the ESPO 2015 Conference

- Theodoros Dritsas, Deputy Minister of Economy, Infrastructure, Maritime Affairs & Tourism

- Santiago Garcia-Mila, Chairman, ESPO

- Eamonn O’Reilly, Chief Executive Port of Dublin, Host of the ESPO 2016 Conference

13:00 Departure for lunch and Port Visit

15:45 End of the visit

16:00 Arrival back to hotel